#writephoto: Fusion

For Sue Vincent’s #writephoto prompt.

morn-005

We all thought it would come from the ocean, or perhaps a whiteout from the Poles. No one imagined this. No one but those who bought seats in the giant bathyscaphs and never resurfaced. They knew, and now they will be burrowed down deep beneath the mantle of the ocean.

Only now, waking after a night of burning, suffocating heat, do we realise why the idea of shuttles to take the super rich to the stars was abandoned, and why deep sea excavation began.

This morning, the last morning of life on earth, the sky is an ocean of magma, the solar system in fusion, and clouds of grey ash will be the last fragile rampart to fall before the fiery deluge.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

25 thoughts on “#writephoto: Fusion”

      1. I don’t think he cares much about our safety. He’s the eleventh plague of Egypt, did you know? And with globalisation, what the top nation of the day gets, we all get.

  1. I hope I’m not there when it happens. No point in buying a seat in a giant bathyscaph or flying off to the stars in a shuttle, or even disappearing beneath the ocean. If I am there, I’d like to face the fiery deluge head on.

Leave a comment