Haibun for night beauty

 

after the heat and the thickening cloud the night rain pounded dry earthโ€™s skin taut as a drum and we closed the shutters to keep it out. Later when silence returned and the heat, I got out of bed to open the shutters, let in the cool air, and gasped at the unexpected sight of such a crowd of stars

behind grey billows

flimsy intangible screen

stretches space the stars

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

31 thoughts on “Haibun for night beauty”

    1. I’m pleased you keep coming back ๐Ÿ™‚ I use poetry as a cathartic break from writing. Sounds silly but it’s a different way of thinking, and although it’s intense, it gets me out of the absorbing fictional world I’m immersed in.

Leave a comment