Things that are thicker than water

There is blood in friendship,
it irrigates gardens,
distills in the colours of sunsets,
pours like nectar from the honeysuckle
or rain from storm clouds.

Whispered voices blow in blue winds,
shaking the roses, and petals fall
with the clang of bronze,
but the sea still laps the shore
in the sweet salt breath of the tides,

and the moon’s hand
strokes the waves,
gentle as a mother,
kissing her child’s hair.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

47 thoughts on “Things that are thicker than water”

  1. “Blood in friendship”–that is just right. The gentleness of the ending is just right too.
    Strange she gave me kissing too. I can’t remember when I last was given that word. (K)

    1. It might have been there, in fact it most likely has been, lots of times, but she doesn’t show us all the words, just the ones she would like us to see. It isn’t a word I use much either, and it’s doubly strange in the context of friendship. But the Oracle knows what she’s about.

  2. I couldn’t read yours or Kerfe’s till I posted mine. This is really lovely. I love the tenderness of the final stanza, and it’s similar in feeling to mine. (Surprise. 😀)

    I almost used kissing as well.

  3. Feel like a transfusion, I mean friendship. How nice. And the ocean waves are truly and literally and poetically stroked by moon’s hand–it is more obvious when the lunar calendar is used.

    1. You could say that, yes. Friendship is as much in our blood as family is, the ties as strong. The moon is always gentle, unlike the sun. You know where you are with the moon.

Leave a comment