Once there was a wedding

Today is my wedding anniversary. The photos are of the principal characters. What a time it’s been so far.

This is me
was then
and you then and still

we

through dark sometimes
then now and will be
though clouds were
are
will come

and the rain is cold
the nights are always soft

through the wind
that shakes barley
and pearls into our eyes,

the wind
that blows all before it
even the clouds across the face of the sun
and away over green oceans
we sail with dreams still.

Some we hold already
in the palm of our joined hands

never forgetting

that this was me
is still
and you
we
for always.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

38 thoughts on “Once there was a wedding”

  1. Lovely pictures and memories! 😍 And a very Happy Anniversary! Beautiful refrain… was then, still is, will be. I think it was the Beautiful South who wrote a song about how our bodies change except for the eyes.

    1. Thanks Ali 🙂 I can’t get over how young we looked. I married Peter Pan. When he took the eldest, (the baby in the photo) to collège on her first day, the girls in her class wanted to know was he her big brother. I’m maybe the exception that proves the rule—my body hasn’t changed much, but my eyes have got tired-looking.

  2. Awwww! Happy Anniversary and many more! ❤️ I thought it was last Sunday. I got confused with the time difference. 😀
    I ‘m glad you found the photos.

    1. Thank you 🙂 We had to assemble the parents otherwise it would have been last week. We had fun looking through the photos. The children have messed them up so much it’s going to be a day’s work trying to put them back in the right order. Telling the babies apart will be difficult in the photos where there are no siblings to give a clue 🙂

    1. Thank you! We had trouble getting all the documents together as husband was still a student, and then the baby was born so we put it off again. The 4th of July was a date the mairie proposed so we took it. Thought it was a date we wouldn’t forget!

      1. Wow! 32 years, wonderful!! Congratulations Jane, heres to 32 more🙂. I love to hear of long marriages, it gives me hope🙂.

        Pat

Leave a comment