A day

A day spent with a baby
is a day to be treasured and remembered
with the light falling through leaves
the babble of the stream
the wealth in simple things
food and laughter
that fills the cup of happiness to overflowing.

So much gold in this world
that some will never find

the oriole sings it in yellow and black
and the small hand that grasps
plays unknowing
on the chords the stars plucked
to make this blue round
spin on the finger of the universe.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “A day”

    1. I’m looking forward to when she can sit up and begin to control her movements, to pick things up and do things she chooses to do. Outdoors is so much fun for babies.

Leave a comment