Haibun for July rain

I look out at the July rain, listen to the thunder roll, the wind in the chimney, mop the water off the floor and try to find the voice of summer. In the livid meadow, feral cat shelters beneath a hay bale, watching the kestrel stoop and take the vole from the trickling stalks. There is no end, no stopping of the wheel, even though we have no use for these muddy times.
sun sinks in storm cloud
and spotting rain—somewhere
it rises golden

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

25 thoughts on “Haibun for July rain”

  1. This is lovely to contemplate as, over here, most of the province is having too-high temperatures, and 300 forest fires are burning. I hope some rain falls soon. Your description i so lovely. I could see it. Love the photo, too.

  2. No stopping of the wheel. I hope the weather improves for you, though that photo is striking.
    Mopping the water off the floor is no fun.
    It is hot and oppressively humid here.
    Did you celebrate Bastille Day?

      1. The same here with the fires and heat out west. Congress is bogged down in procedure as usual. How to make sure no one who is not white male and old gets to vote.

  3. Your Haibun is beautiful! It is so vivid! We have rain here, too! More rain than we need while the wildfires rage out West. Wher they have unbelievably high temps this year and draught, we have have muggy, rainy days here. I would just enjoy a few days of “normal” weather.

    1. Thanks Michelle. I shouldn’t complain. Our rain was just constant, not intense or destructive as they’ve had in some parts. And the sun has decided to come back, so we’re likely going to get some summer weather at last!

    1. I did comment on it, but that was weeks ago! The sun’s back now though, and looks set to stay for a while. At last! You’re probably right though, the animals probably prefer cool and damp to searing heat and drought.

Leave a comment