The sun is on the meadow

The sun is on the meadow

The sun is on the meadow,
the hawk is on the wing,
and beneath the leaves’ dry murmur,
I can hear the chaffinch sing.

But the air is growing colder,
the nights are clear and bright,
and our hearts are growing older
with the failing of the light.

The sun is on the meadow,
though the wind is rising loud,
the hawk banks on the wild gusts,
soaring high, so fierce and proud.

I see winter in the cold stars,
in the glitter of their gaze,
and chaffinch, hawk and lovers
all regret the golden days,

when the sun was on the meadow
and winged the world with song,
but they’re gone the birds and lovers,
and the winter will be long.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

26 thoughts on “The sun is on the meadow”

  1. A wonderful rhyme, Jane! But i hopefully can disagree with the last line. I do not really want a long winter. Not in these times. 😉 Best wishes, Michael
    I hope your illness is gone, and you can enjoy the wonderful colors of autumn.

    1. Thank you, Michael 🙂 No, I’m not looking forward to the winter either!
      The infection is still with me, I’m afraid and will be for months. But it gets a little but better every day.

      1. We already eat about a large head of garlic each a week, it’s not really possible to eat much more! The inflammation is probably an auto-immune problem. I have a disposition to getting them.

    1. Thank you 🙂 Since the beginning of September the weather has been superb. The forecast doesn’t see an end to it either. I hope that doesn’t mean we’re in for a nasty surprise when the weather finally turns.

Leave a comment