In the rain

1001px-Alfredo_De_Simone_-_Lluvia

I stand in the rain/ the rain is falling,

Watch you walk away/ among the roses.

No words to stop you/ recalling summer’s past,

The good times forgotten/ when our love was new.

Puddles are forming/ grey sky reflected,

Like memories leaking/ in droplets so perfect,

Tears in the wind/ shaken from rose blooms,

Can you not see them?/ Can you hear them fall?

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

25 thoughts on “In the rain”

  1. Wow! I have not seen a poem writen this way, am I blind or stupid not to know about this? I read this as a whole then as two seperate poems linked by a feeling a raindrop. A beautiful concept a lovely read Thank you.

    1. Not stupid or blind 🙂 I discovered it on Tuesday when I was looking for a new poetry form for the weekly challenge. It’s tricky to do, but I get such a buzz from getting things to come out right.

      1. It is more or less free style, you just have to be able to chop it into two halves and for it still to make sense. Looking forward to seeing how you cope with it.

Leave a comment