A room of one’s own

This, in 52 words is a description for Sacha Black of my ideal work place. With requested pics. In between the pics is a 52 word poem, added this minute as an afterthought. Two for the price of one.

I need a chair and a table and a laptop and an armchair for a dog and a window for light and a radiator for when itโ€™s cold.

Birdsong beyond the window is nice and trees bending in the wind and at night a host of stars.

The last things arenโ€™t necessary.

Room with laptop

 

Thereโ€™s a dog in the chair by the window,

And a cat on the sill in the sun,

Thereโ€™s a rose on the terrace in full bloom,

And the breeze sighs that summerโ€™s begun.

 

All I need is enclosed in this still space,

My silence within makes it my place.

 

Thatโ€™s all.

 

Room with dog

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

20 thoughts on “A room of one’s own”

      1. Hello, oh this ways its different to me. I also need noise in the background, at best some music. But i also dont need noise from the street or machines. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Have a nice day! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Michael

  1. That’s a wonderful space. I wish I could be so minimal, it certainly gives more room for thinking. The poem and prose together are just right. (K)

      1. That’s the trouble. Husband makes and mends things. He’s always bringing home old chairs and tables and things that could possibly be turned into a piece of furniture if you have a very vivid imagination. So we have to keep every bit of wood, piece of string, pot of paint, tube of glue, piece of cloth that might one day come in useful for mending them.

    1. It was a good idea. You should get a job with MI5 ๐Ÿ™‚ I could take the same photo right now. Only difference is he isn’t folded up neatly, he’s fast asleep, half off the chair with his snout trailing on the floor.

Leave a comment