Anchor

Sod the packing. A poem for the dverse prompt about metaphor. I have a feeling I always do this, so I’m maybe missing the point. Here it is anyway.

 

And could I make this more than it is,

the vibrant light of morning,

rising to where the clouds cluster in gaudy flocks,

and the falling evening ocean,

bathing grass in pink and gold,

flecked with roistering homing birds?

Nothing I can say or do will change the quality of light,

the sky, a basking sea lit by coral stars its deep dark bed,

the trees that wave wild unkempt hair in the wind,

and in the dappling shadows,

the rust red, white scut flash of hart and hare.

You will always be the anchor in this wild sea,

the mirror, delicate as the clean washed strand,

and make me more than I could ever be alone.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

46 thoughts on “Anchor”

  1. You’re right, you and we as poets in general, probably always do it without even thinking of it. That was the challenge though, the ready-set-metaphor! having to think about it. Beautiful imagery.

    1. Maybe it isn’t such a good idea to think about it too much. There’s a risk of contrivance. I like the effect of splashing down what first springs to mind, even if it doesn’t always make perfect sense 🙂

      1. I don’t think we were actually given a choice. They both just walked in and took over. I can hear little Gollum-features meowling right now—yessss, fishesss, lots of fishessss…

  2. I agree- sod the packing…. this is much preferable. I like- a basking sea lit by coral stars its deep dark bed- it reminds me of sailing on the west coast of Scotland with my parents when I was younger and we saw basking sharks..and the sea was endless azure mirror, and then at night the phosphorescence made it look like the stars were twinkling in the sea.

  3. I’m not allowed to have cats anymore because I had to put my last one down and it truly broke my heart. I miss cats. I love the images and the love in this poem – “and make me more than I could ever be alone? that last line totally grabbed my heart.

    1. We’ve lost three male cats and only one to old age. The other two were young and healthy one minute, dying of kidney failure and cat AIDS the next. I cried and cried, but you can’t stop the strays wandering in. We’re on an emotional high at the moment, packing up and leaving the house that has seen the children grow to young adults. The weather is tumultuous, I’m having migraine after migraine, and it’s easy to get carried away.

  4. Too right, sod the packing, Jane! A poem and a cup of tea (or whatever grabs your fancy) is the antidote to stressful situations – and moving house is right up there at the top of the list.
    I love the opening of your poem, as if it had already started, which the light of morning already has when we first notice it, in some other part of the country/world. I love the lines:
    ‘rising to where the clouds cluster in gaudy flocks,
    and the falling evening ocean’
    and
    ‘…in the dappling shadows,
    the rust red, white scut flash of hart and hare’.
    My kind of landscape.

Leave a comment