Vixen sniffs the wind

For the earthweal prompt.
Painting by Franz Marc.

Vixen sniffs the wind

The days are growing tender green,
leaf green, shadow green.

Dark is softer, wind wilder, moon dances.

Urge is stronger, wilder, yearning
like green plants,
stretching upwards to the sky.

A fearful smell is carried on this wind,
blowing from where the sun is born,
behind the wild, warm scent of kin,
the smoking fire stink of man.

Kin, leaves, moon, I dance,
because it’s time.

Skin shivers.
Time.
And then?

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

37 thoughts on “Vixen sniffs the wind”

      1. It’s useful. Like for paying the bills. It was always my dream that one day I’d be able to have a warm house, go on holiday, and not be afraid of opening bank statements. I’ve changed my dream to an easier one 🙂

      2. Looking after this bit of earth, feeding the animals and birds that come around, adopting as many dogs as we can manage, yelling at hunters, arguing with climate change deniers, writing bits of poetry and crossing fingers that my children will keep smiling. Sounds like not much but it uses up all 24 hours in the day 🙂

      3. It is, I know. The house is freezing in winter, there’s no bathroom and it’s damp. But there’s life here, it’s quiet, pretty, and we can do our tiny positive bit, bothering no one (except the hunters).

      4. You can’t imagine how much! When the temperature goes down to 6/7° indoors at night, it’s grim. At least it’s made me notice the turning of the seasons more, how they blend into one another, the growth never really stopping, just slowing.

  1. I agree with Merril. Those last two words hold so much. What was that saying? “War is not healthy for children and other living things”. They know something is not right. (K)

    1. One of the arguments ecologists use with the hunting lobby is that fox populations self-regulate. If there’s little food, loss of habitat, they simply don’t have babies. I wonder how many animals will be sniffing the wind and thinking, no, not this year.

  2. ‘A fearful smell is carried on this wind,
    blowing from where the sun is born’

    – we really are good at messing things up for all creatures, aren’t we?

  3. Humans have traveled far from a garden of green. It seems darkness comes for all inhabitants as humans are not good stewards of planet earth.

    The last line really makes the reader pause to catch a breath.

Leave a comment