Poetry challenge #8: Butterfly cinquain

A butterfly cinquain is a nine-line syllabic verse of the following pattern:

2 / 4 / 6 / 8 / 2 / 8 / 6 / 4 / 2.

This is a poem that makes a pretty pattern, a butterfly, in fact.

Here’s my example, based on yesterday’s drenched grass poem.

silver grass2

Mourning,

Damp grass weeping,

Trailing, sorrow-weighted,

Beneath a leaden autumn sky.

New day,

The dead are buried, tears all shed,

mountain of memories,

candles burning,

ever.

Simple and effective. I’ll leave the theme up to you. Just leave the link to your poem, or the poem itself if you don’t post it on your blog, in the comments. Looking forward to reading your poetry.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

31 thoughts on “Poetry challenge #8: Butterfly cinquain”

  1. Wonderful example for an interesting challenge.
    Here’s mine:

    Mystic Morning

    mystic
    caressing kiss
    of a receding fog
    banked along a winding river
    lingers
    slowly drifting among the reeds
    last remnant of a cool
    early autumn
    morning

  2. I like the butterfly effect and look forward to giving it a try. Your poem is very timely and I appreciate the way you have been tracking Paris’s mourning (l’m assuming).

    1. Thanks for having a go at a butterfly cinquain. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. I’ll accept the quotes challenge gladly. Been looking up suitable quotes for this latest book, so I’ll start with that one ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment