Haiku challenge: Eye & Fade

Ronovan’s word choice inspired geese haiku. I know haiku aren’t supposed to rhyme, but the last one does. So, shoot me.

Portrait

Through eye of the storm,

geese fly the buffeting wind

till they fade from sight.

 

Bright dusk fades to night,

geese fight through gathering clouds,

grey feathered arrows.

 

 Eye bright, feather light,

all the colours of the night

fade to grey, goose flight.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

12 thoughts on “Haiku challenge: Eye & Fade”

      1. I know! I was proud of you! As I know you are quite rule-bound and yet …. well it was a good choice to break the rule in this instance (and to think, I don’t much care for rhyme poetry and I loved this one so there!)

      2. I’m sure we all use rhymes in our head even when we say we don’t like rhyming poetry. It’s one of the ‘tricks’ of language, and there’s something about a rhyming story that is so satisfying.

      3. Yes you are right, I use accidental rhyme a lot … I think I am beginning to appreciate a wider circle of styles but I have to say your dramatic pieces get me cliff-edgey I love that about them

Leave a comment