Haikai: memorial

For Frank Tassone’s haikai challenge. Poppies are disappearing from European fields because of intensive farming methods and the ripping up of hedgerows. As we destroy our natural heritage, we destroy our collective memories too.

 

years pass and

smooth the furrowed field

where no poppies bloom

blood bone beneath forgotten

like useless flowers

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

7 thoughts on “Haikai: memorial”

    1. Maybe, but could you ask the maligned farmers to stop spraying poison on them then, please? I admit, I’m an incorrigible cynic, but don’t know that they’re that concerned with beauty when it’s a toss up between poppies or a completely insect- and weed-free crop.

Leave a comment